The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History


The judges for the Sidewise Award for Alternate History read throughout the year. Anyone — including authors, publicists, publishers, and readers — may submit or recommend works of alternate history for consideration. But please, do not submit works that are not alternate history. Alternate history is defined as "a point of divergence from the history of our world prior to the time at which the author is writing, a change that would alter history as it is known, and an examination of the ramifications of that change."

We recommend submitting works for the judges' consideration as early as possible to give the judges sufficient time to read and evaluate them. However, submissions should be made no later than March 31 of the year following publication.

Submissions may be made with advanced reader copies, final press copies, or in e-book form. If submitting an e-book copy, please send non-DRM versions of the text in .epub, .mobi, and/or .pdf formats to awards administrator Steven H Silver at He will circulate the e-book copies to the other judges.

Following is the list of Sidewise judges for for the 2023 awards (to be announced in 2024). If submitting hardcopies, please send one copy to each at the addresses given.

+ Eileen Gunn, 525 19th Ave E, Seattle, WA 98112, USA

+ Matt Mitrovich, 8737 Raintree Rd., Tinley Park, IL 60487, USA

+ Olav Rokne, Unit 107, 11220 99 Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta T5K2K6, Canada

+ Kurt Sidaway, 107 Lea Street, Kidderminster, Worcestershire DY10 1SN, UK

+ Steven H Silver, 707 Sapling Lane, Deerfield, IL 60015, USA